Governor Issues New Mask Mandate
July 28, 2021
Yesterday, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) issued new guidance recommending that everyone (without regard to vaccination status) wear a mask in public indoor settings in areas of substantial or high transmission of COVID-19. Consistent with earlier directives, Governor Sisolak immediately adopted the CDC’s recommendation and issued a new mask mandate for Nevada.
Under the new mandate, everyone (employees and the public regardless of vaccination status) must wear a mask in public indoor settings in counties with substantial or high transmission. Currently, the Nevada counties with substantial or high transmission are: Carson, Churchill, Clark, Douglas, Elko, Esmeralda, Lincoln, Lyon, Mineral, Nye, Washoe and White Pine. The new mandate, set forth in Emergency Directive 47, becomes effective at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, July 30.
The CDC further recommends that those who are (or who reside with someone who is) at increased risk for severe disease from COVID-19 or are immunocompromised wear a mask regardless of transmission levels in their area. Finally, the CDC recommends that fully vaccinated people who are exposed to COVID-19 be tested 3-5 days after exposure and wear a mask in public indoor settings for 14 days or until they receive a negative test result.
KZA attorneys are available to assist you with any questions you have about these changes.
KZA Employer Report articles are for general information only; they are not intended and should not be construed to be legal advice. Reading or replying to such articles does not establish an attorney-client relationship. In addition, because the subject matters and applicable laws discussed in Employer Report articles are often in a state of change and not always applicable to every type of business entity or organization, readers should consult with counsel before making decisions based on the same.