A Few COVID-19 Reminders
October 23, 2023
While the COVID-19 pandemic and many of its restrictions are over, the virus still exists and is circulating. We have outlined below a few reminders for employers.
- COVID-19 is a recognized health hazard in the workplace, and all Nevada employers have a continued duty to protect their employees from this virus.
According to the Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Administration (NV OSHA), employers should “continue to evaluate the risk of COVID-19 in their workplace and incorporate an explanation of the methods used to identify, analyze and control exposure to COVID-19 into the Written Safety Program” required by Nevada law. (All Nevada businesses with more than 10 employees are required to have a written safety program; all others are highly encouraged to have a written COVID-19 Prevention Program.)
- Until December 31, 2023, Nevada’s private employers with 50 or more employees are required to provide paid leave for vaccinations.
In 2021, the Nevada Legislature passed SB 209 which added a new section to Nevada’s paid leave statute to require an employer with 50 or more employees to provide an additional amount of paid leave to employees to receive a COVID-19 vaccine (unless the vaccine is given on the employer’s premises during the employee’s regular work hours). If the vaccine is administered in one dose, the employee must be given 2 consecutive hours of paid leave; if the vaccine is administered in two doses, the employee must be given a total of 4 hours of paid leave (2 consecutive hours per absence). This requirement expires on December 31, 2023.
- Two federal OSHA requirements remain.
The federal OSHA’s requirements related to the voluntary use of respiratory protection and its recordkeeping and reporting requirements for COVID-19 related hospitalizations or fatalities at healthcare facilities remain in effect. (See attachments 1 and 2 to NV OSHA’s most recent guidance.)
- Employers should continue to keep track of the CDC’s isolation guidelines.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) currently recommends at least 5 days of isolation after a positive COVID-19 test and masking through day 10. Longer isolation periods are recommended for those who experience moderate or severe illness or have a weakened immune system. (Moderate illness is defined as experiencing shortness of breath or difficulty breathing; severe illness is defined as being hospitalized.)
An individual with mild symptoms may end isolation after 5 days if his/her symptoms are improving and he/she is fever free for 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing medication. No matter when isolation is ended, the CDC recommends that until at least day 11, the individual wear a high-quality mask indoors and avoid being around people who are more likely to get very sick from COVID-19.
KZA attorneys remain available to assist you with these matters and answer your questions.
KZA Employer Report articles are for general information only; they are not intended and should not be construed to be legal advice. Reading or replying to such articles does not establish an attorney-client relationship. In addition, because the subject matters and applicable laws discussed in Employer Report articles are often in a state of change and not always applicable to every type of business entity or organization, readers should consult with counsel before making decisions based on the same.